---
title: "Deleting certificates (revoke)"
url: "https://help.internetx.com/en/tls-ssl-smime/revoke-certificates/"
lang: "en"
section: "TLS/SSL & S/MIME"
---

# Deleting certificates (revoke)

Certificates that are not renewed will expire automatically at the specified expiry date. They remain visible in **Certificate Management** if the filter in the upper right corner is set to "Expired". They can also be [renewed](/en/tls-ssl-smime/renew-certificates/) there. If you no longer want to use a certificate before the end of the expiry date, you can delete it in the SSL Manager.

## Step 1: Starting the deletion the SSL Manager

-   In the menu group **TLS/SSL Certificate**s, click **Certificate Management**.
-   Select the certificate in the list.
-   Click the **Tools** button in the toolbar and click **Delete Certificate**.
-   Confirm with **Yes**.

## Step 2: Confirming the certificate deletion

The deletion of a certificate must always be confirmed. The type of confirmation depends on the verification method used for the initial order.

### Confirmation for the DNA verification method

A DNS entry must be set for the deletion. You can view this entry in the **Order Management** area as soon as the deletion has been started.

### Confirmation of the verification method EMAIL

The CA sends an email to the confirmation email address that was used when the initial order was placed. The deletion must be confirmed by a link in the email.

### Confirmation of the verification method FILE

For the deletion a file must be deposited. You can view the contents of the file in the **Order Management** area as soon as the deletion has been started.

## Step 3: Tracking the order

You can track the deletion of certificates in the Order Management area. In the **Certificate Management** overview, however, the deleted certificates are no longer listed, in contrast to expired certificates.
